Accolades & Achievements

PB Week.CLE.Reno.2014.2



Alan J. Davis Award

Pro Bono Celebration 2014 CLE Reception in Reno, Nevada, sponsored by First Independent Bank

Pictured left to right:  Judge Lidia S. Stiglich, moderator; Mike Hix, First Independent Bank of Nevada; Justice Michael L. Douglas, presenter; Chief Justice James W. Hardesty, presenter.











In a ceremony that took place on July 17, 2014, the law firm of Ballard Spahr awarded its 2014 Alan J. Davis Award to three Nevada pro bono providers.  Legal Aid Center of Southern Nevada, Nevada Legal Services and Southern Nevada Senior Law Program received this recognition in honor of their pro bono work assisting families in crisis.  (Pictured left to right are:  Anna Marie Johnson, Executive Director, Nevada Legal Services; Nevada Supreme Court Justice Michael L. Douglas; Barbara Buckley, Executive Director, Legal Aid Center of Southern Nevada, Mark Stevens, Ballard Spahr National Chair, Sugar Vogel, Executive Director of Southern Nevada Senior Law Program; Bill Curran, Managing Partner of Ballard Spahr’s Las Vegas office.)




ATJ Benefactor.G.White





The Nevada Supreme Court Access to Justice Commission received a $25,000 contribution from retired Reno attorney, Geoffrey White.

Mr. White joined Justices of the Nevada Supreme Court at the Board of Governors Annual Meeting with the Court.

(Seated:  Justice Michael L. Douglas, Justice Michael A. Cherry, Justice Ron D. Parraguirre, Justice Nancy M. Saitta; Standing:  Chief Justice Mark Gibbons, Attorney Geoffrey White, Justice James W. Hardesty)








Chief Justice Mark Gibbons with VARN Executive Director, Ben Albers and VARN employee, Julie Mogensen at the 2014 Annual VARN Awards.












    NLS and Senator Reid.2013 Champions of Justice.Presentation

Nevada Legal Services presents Senator Harry Reid with the Champion of Justice Award.

Pictured: (Front row left to right):  Bill Curran, Board Chair; Kristine Bergstrom, Senior Attorney; Senator Reid; Anna Marie Johnson, Executive Director; (back row, left to right):  Kirk Kaplan, Board Treasurer;

Eleyette Worth, Fiscal Manager; Paul Larsen, Board member; David Olshan, Directing Attorney



Champions of Justice





2013 Pro Bono Week Proclamation by Governor Sandavol.

Champions of Justice.2

















  Attorney Terry Johnson, Nevada Legal Services’ 2013 Pro Bono Attorney of the Year.  Attorney Johnson is pictured here with his wife, Yvonne Johnson.







Eunice Beattie.LACSN.3

Attorney Eunice Beattie (center), Legal Aid Center of Southern Nevada’s October Pro Bono Attorney of the Month.  Attorney Beattie is pictured with 8th Judicial District Judge Elizabeth Gonzalez (left) and 8th Judicial District Chief Judge Jennifer P. Togliatti (right).